The emperor has no clothes but he serves incredible food

Not long ago, my teenage son and I were looking at some abstract impressionist art by a fairly prominent artist during a well-attended reception where they were serving ridiculously good chocolate chip cookies.  As we gazed at one particular piece, he said to me “this is amazing.” I concurred. A woman to our right approached us.

“Excuse me,” she said, “this is sort of embarrassing, but can you tell me what it is you’re seeing in this art, because I don’t get it.”

I told her we were referring to the cookies, not the art. We had no idea what was going on in the art.

So much was happening in that moment. The woman humbling herself to admit she didn’t “get” the art; we admitting the same and the three of us sharing a good laugh over the whole thing before she made her way to the dessert spread. Art brought people together for discussion, despite itself.

In that spirit, here is a funny read in Vice about the same thing.

“I’m Sick of Pretending: I Don’t “Get” Art”

Leave a Reply

